Russian made mechanical movement

Movement complications

Raketa has 1 “caliber” with 4 different “complications”. A “caliber” (or base movement) is a mechanical movement in its most simple form, i.e. simply showing the time (hours, minutes & seconds). “Complications” are additional functions that are added on to the “caliber” and that therefore make it more “complicated”. The Raketa Watch Factory will gradually roll-out more complications over the next few years.  Stay tuned!

Movement 2615

3 hand movement with avtomat complication (inside the Raketa watch «Big Zero»)

Number of jewels: 24
Testing positions: 4
Average rate (s/d): -10+20
Average running time (h): 40
Frequency/hour: 18.000 / 2.5Hz
Bi-directional automatic winding: Yes
Stopper of self-winding unit activated during manual winding: Yes

Movement 2615R

3 hand movement with avtomat & “reverse” (counter-clockwise) complications

(inside the Raketa watch “Russian Code”)

Number of jewels: 24
Testing positions: 4
Average rate (s/d): -10+20
Average running time (h): 40
Frequency/hour: 18.000 / 2.5Hz
Bi-directional automatic winding: Yes
Stopper of self-winding unit activated during manual winding: Yes

Movement 2624

3 hand movement with avtomat & 24 hour complications

(inside the Raketa watch “Baikonur”)

Number of jewels: 24
Testing positions: 4
Average rate (s/d): -10+20
Average running time (h): 40
Frequency/hour: 18.000 / 2.5Hz
Bi-directional automatic winding: Yes
Stopper of self-winding unit activated during manual winding: Yes

Movement 2616

3 hand movement with avtomat & date complications

(inside the Raketa watch “TU_160”)

Number of jewels: 24
Testing positions: 4
Average rate (s/d): -10+20
Average running time (h): 40
Frequency/hour: 18.000 / 2.5Hz
Bi-directional automatic winding: Yes
Stopper of self-winding unit activated during manual winding: Yes

Hand-crafted movements

The components of the movement are not made with computer numerical machines (CNCs). They are made by hand using Russian “old school” production methods, by men and women who transmit a little of their soul into each component that they produce. You can visit the “Raketa Watch Factory” and see with your own eyes how our specialists work.

Interesting facts about Raketa watches (using the Raketa “Big Zero” as an example):

  • 8.201 operations are required to produce this watch
  • 242 specialists are needed to produce all of its components
  • 102 components (including that of the movement itself) are on your wrist when you wear this watch model

Inside the movement

Stopper of Self-winding unit

Disconnection of automatic winding module: The Raketa movement has a function that disconnects the automatic winding module from the rest of the movement when you wind-up the movement manually. This enables to prevent the tiny teeth of wheels in the automatic winding module from wearing out. Indeed, they are not meant to turn too quickly, which they would if they were not disconnected during the manual winding. This function was in particular developed for Soviet cosmonauts: in the absence of gravity in space, the rotor of the movement hardly moves and cosmonauts therefore have to wind the automatic movement manually during their long stays in space.

Close
Rotor (or «oscillating weight»)

Rotor (or «oscillating weight»): This “weight” oscillates each time you move your wrist and thus automatically winds up the “main spring” (see below) through a series a small wheels (automatic winding function). The Raketa rotor has 2 particularities: it’s diameter is bigger than that of the movement itself, thus giving you a spectacular view on its oscillation. It is also bi-directional, which means that it winds up the movement in whichever direction it oscillates, thus doubling the self-winding efficiency rate. This was in particular developed for Soviet submariners who often had to stay still during long periods in cramped conditions in their submarines.

Close
Main spring

Main spring: This is the source of energy of the movement (the equivalent of the battery in a quartz movement). Once this spring is wound up (manually by turning the crown of the watch or automatically with the rotor of the movement), it slowly unwinds in 40 hours by pushing forward all the gear train of the movement.

Close
Balance wheel & hair spring

Balance wheel & hair spring: This module is the very heart of the movement and also the most complicated to produce and assemble. It is responsible for reducing the rotation speed of the gear train to precisely the right speed that is needed to turn each of the 3 hands on the dial. Produced with a precision of up to 0.5 micron (i.e. 0.0005 mm) from a secret Russian alloy, the hair-spring is calculated to oscillate exactly 18.000 times/hour. If it oscillated more (or less) slowly, the watch would then go too slowly (or too quickly)!

Close
Gear train

Balance wheel axis: This tiny axis (3.2 mm height) must be in conformity with 36 different measures. It oscillates around its 2 pivots (tips) 18.000 times/hour (i.e. approx. 500.000 times/day, 3.000.000 times/week, 12.000.000 times/month, etc). To avoid a premature wearing of the 2 metal pivots (tips) of this axis, they are “sitting” in bearings made out of rubis stones.

Close
Jewels

Jewels: The Raketa 2615 movement has 24 ruby stones. Their purpose is to reduce the friction at the points of heaviest wear, ex: where the 2 metal pivots (tips) of the balance wheel axis rub against their bearing at a speed of 18.000 oscillations/hour. If the bearings were in metal, the constant friction of 2 metal parts would be quick & devastating. Therefore, the bearing is made out of ruby which is one of the hardest stones on earth.

Close
Gear train

Gear train: The gear train is made of 13 gear wheels and pinions (a pinion is an axis with teeth). Depending on their diameter and their number of teeth, they turn at different speeds. Three of the wheels are directly connected to the respective 3 hands (hours, minutes, seconds) and are therefore responsible for the precise speed at which these hands move along the dial.

Close

Decoration of the movements

We take great pride in decorating as well as possible our in-house made mechanical movement and showing it to you through the case back of the Raketa watch. All the decorations, whether mechanical or printed, are made by hand at the Raketa Watch Factory. The decorations try, as much as possible, to convey the story and the values of the watch model in which the movement is assembled. For example, the Raketa “Polar” watch which is made for Polar explorers, has a decoration reminding you of polar (northern) lights that you can see in the arctic sky.

Русский мануфактурный механизм

Усложнения механизма

“Ракета” имеет 1 “калибр” с 4 различными “усложнениями”. “Калибр” (или базовый механизм) —  это механизм в самом простом виде, то есть тот, который просто показывает время (часы, минуты, секунды). “Усложнения” — это дополнительные функции, которые добавляются к “калибру” и, следовательно, делают его более “сложным”. Часовой Завод “Ракета” будет постепенно выпускать новые “усложнения” в течение следующих нескольких лет. Будьте на связи!

Механизм 2615

3-х стрелочный механизм с усложнением “Автомат”

(внутри часов Ракета “Петродворцовый Классик”)

Количество камней: 24
Контрольные положения: 4
Суточный ход (с/д): -10+20
Средний запас хода (ч.): 40
Колебаний в час: 18.000 / 2.5Гц
Направление автоподзавода в обе стороны: Да
Система отключения узла автоподзавода при ручном подзаводе: Да

 

Механизм 2615R

3-х стрелочный механизм с усложнениями “Автомат” и обратный ход (против часовой стрелки)

(внутри часов Ракета “Русский Код”)

Количество камней: 24
Контрольные положения: 4
Суточный ход (с/д): -10+20
Средний запас хода (ч.): 40
Колебаний в час: 18.000 / 2.5Гц
Направление автоподзавода в обе стороны: Да
Система отключения узла автоподзавода при ручном подзаводе: Да

Механизм 2624

3-х стрелочный механизм с усложнениями “Автомат” и 24 часа

(внутри часов Ракета “Байконур”)

Количество камней: 24
Контрольные положения: 4
Суточный ход (с/д): -10+20
Средний запас хода (ч.): 40
 Колебаний в час: 18.000 / 2.5Гц
Направление автоподзавода в обе стороны: Да
Система отключения узла автоподзавода при ручном подзаводе: Да

Механизм 2616

3-х стрелочный механизм с усложнениями “Автомат” и дата

(внутри часов Ракета “Ту-160”)

Количество камней: 24
Контрольные положения: 4
Суточный ход (с/д): -10+20
Средний запас хода (ч.): 40
Колебаний в час: 18.000 / 2.5Гц
Направление автоподзавода в обе стороны: Да
Система отключения узла автоподзавода при ручном подзаводе: Да

Ручная работа

Детали механизмов производятся не на станках с числовым программным управлением (ЧПУ-станки), а вручную кропотливым трудом людей, которые передают частичку своей души в каждую деталь. Вы можете посетить Часовой Завод “Ракета” и увидеть своими глазами, как работают наши специалисты.

Интересные факты (на примере часов Ракета “Петродворцовый Классик”):

  • 8201 операция необходима для производства одних часов
  • 242 специалиста задействовано при производстве всех этих деталей
  • 102 детали находятся на Вашем запястье (включая 169 деталей в механизме), когда вы носите эти часы

Внутри механизма

Stopper of Self-winding unit

Система отключения узла автоподзавода : Механизм “Ракета” обладает функцией отключения узла автоподзавода от основного механизма при ручном заводе пружины. Это позволяет предотвратить изнашивание мелких зубьев колес в модуле автоподзавода. Они не предназначены для слишком быстрого поворота (который произошел бы в случае ручного завода, если бы не было этой системы отключения). Эта функция была разработана в том числе для советских космонавтов: в условиях отсутствия гравитации в космосе сектор груза почти не двигается, и космонавтам приходится заводить механизм вручную.

Закрыть
Rotor (or «oscillating weight»)

Сектор груза : Этот “груз” вращается на подшипнике каждый раз, когда Вы двигаете запястьем, и автоматически подзаводит пружину барабана через систему зубчатых колес (система автоподзавода). Сектор груза “Ракеты” обладает двумя особенностями: его диаметр больше диаметра механизма, что открывает тем самым захватывающий вид на его колебания. Он также двунаправленный, то есть он подзаводит механизм, в каком бы направлении он не вращался, таким образом удваивая коэффициент эффективности автоподзавода. Эта функция была в том числе разработана для советских подводников, которым часто приходилось оставаться неподвижными длительный период в тесных условиях подводной лодки.

Закрыть
Main spring

Пружина барабана: Является источником энергии механизма. Как только эта пружина заведена (вручную с помощью поворота заводной головки или автоматически с помощью сектора груза), она начинает медленно раскручивается в течение 40 часов, вращая все зубчатые передачи механизма.

Закрыть
Balance wheel & hair spring

Обод баланса и спираль: Этот узел является самым сердцем механизма, а также его детали самые сложные для производства. Он отвечает за снижение скорости зубчатой передачи до правильной скорости движения стрелок. Спираль, изготовленная с точностью до 0,5 микрона (т.е. 0.0005 мм) из секретного российского сплава, рассчитана ровно на 18.000 полуколебаний в час. Если ее колебания были бы больше или меньше 18.000 раз в час, часы спешили бы или отставали!

Закрыть
Gear train

Ось баланса: Эта мельчайшая деталь высотой всего 3.2 мм должна соответствовать 36 различным размерам. Она совершает вокруг собственной оси 18.000 полуколебаний в час (т.е. около 500.000 раз в день, 3.000.000 раз в неделю, 12.000.000 в месяц и т. д.). Чтобы избежать преждевременного износа металлических цапф этой оси, подшипники изготовлены из рубиновых камней.

Закрыть
Jewels

Рубиновые камни: Механизм “Ракета” 2615 включает 24 рубиновых камня. Их цель — снизить трение в местах наиболее сильного износа, например, где цапфа стальной оси баланса вращается в отверстии камня со скоростью 18.000 полуколебаний/час. Если бы подшипники были из металла, постоянное трение двух металлических деталей привело бы к быстрому износу. Поэтому подшипники сделаны из рубина, близкому по твердости к алмазу — самому твердому камню на Земле.

Закрыть
Gear train

Зубчатая передача: Зубчатая передача состоит из 13 колес и трибов. В зависимости от их диаметра и количества зубьев они вращаются с разной скоростью, три из которых непосредственно отвечают за точную скорость поворота стрелок (часы, минуты, секунды).

Закрыть

Декор механизма

Мы гордимся искусным декором нашего мануфактурного механизма, вид на который открывается через заднюю крышку часов “Ракета”. Все декоры, будь то механические или напечатанные декалью, изготавливаются вручную на Часовом Заводе “Ракета”. Декор механизма передают ценности соответствующей модели часов. Например, часы Ракета «Полярные», разработанные для полярных исследователей, обладают декором, напоминающим о северном сиянии, которое можно увидеть в арктическом небе.